Dr. Kevin Dieter Earns National Award from American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Hospice of the Western Reserve physician Dr. Kevin Dieter is the recipient of the 2019 Josefina B. Magno Distinguished Hospice Physician Award from the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM). He received the award at the AAHPM's Annual Conference in Orlando recently. Dr. Dieter is associate medical director at Hospice of the Western Reserve and directs the medical care provided at David Simpson Hospice House on E. 185th St. in Cleveland. He is also the physician for the team that delivers hospice care in the homes of patients in Lake, Geauga and portions of eastern Cuyahoga County.

AAHPM’s membership includes more than 5,000 physicians and other healthcare professionals committed to improving the care of patients with serious illness. The award recognizes a hospice medical director or hospice physician who provides the highest quality services and innovative programs, and who demonstrates exemplary dedication to the practice of palliative medicine in a hospice setting.

“Dr. Dieter is a model hospice physician,” said Dr. Beth McLaughlin, chief medical officer, Hospice of the Western Reserve. “He’s an inspiration to all of us. We’re thrilled to have him win this prestigious national award.”

Jill Rossman, RN, is a member of the team working closely with Dr. Dieter at David Simpson Hospice House. “His wealth of knowledge - along with his gifted teaching abilities - are a blessing to us, our patients and their families and the young medical students he mentors,” she said. “While managing physical symptoms, he also focuses passionately on the psychological and spiritual needs of each person to support them through their sacred journey. It's an honor to work alongside Dr. Dieter.”    

Dr. Dieter earned his Medical Degree at Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine (NEOMED) in Rootstown, Ohio, in 1985, and is Board Certified in Hospice and Palliative Medicine and Family Medicine. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (FAAHPM).

Laurie Henrichsen

Public and Media Relations Manager

Read More on Health News
Volume 11, Issue 5, Posted 10:48 AM, 05.05.2019